top of page
Search

1 Word From 15 Laws

Is there one word you could identify that defines you?


I’ve been conducting some Mastermind Groups on John Maxwell’s amazing book, “The 15 Invaluable Laws of Growth“.  In the Law of the Mirror, the author asks us to make a list of positive attributes about ourselves, and to choose one word to rule them all.  Can you select one word, above all others, that most accurately sums up your positive self?

I found my one-word.  It is “Present”.   I am present.


I think I first realized this when my kids were still in middle and high school.  I remember seeing other parents at the concerts and sporting events. So many of them were busy with their cameras or cam-corders. Don’t get me wrong, I totally get it. Preserving the memories can be important, but not at the expense of actually enjoying the event. For me, a few choice pictures and I was done… I wanted to be there, in the moment (plus I’m not very good at multitasking in that way!). I don’t remember every note played, or every goal saved, but I do remember how I felt to be there. There is a reason we hire photographers to be at weddings. It’s not something you can do well if you are present in the occasion. As I’ve grown older, I think I’ve become even better at being present.  I hope the people I care for know this by the attention I give them – I try to hear them when we communicate. I set aside my cell phone to have conversations, and I make eye contact. I’m there. You’ll notice my word is not “Perfect”.  But I’m still better than I was yesterday!


I’d love for you all to post your own one-word in the comments, with a short story if you have one you’d like to share!

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page